New Customer Offer: 10% Off — Coupon code: FIRST10

No products in the cart.

LED Light Bar Wiring Kit Buying Guide: Relays, Fuses and Switches

A light bar’s electrical circuit must be selected from the lamp’s published current across its published voltage range, not from the watt number printed on the box, and for a single 100 W to 150 W auxiliary lamp on a 12 V vehicle that means sizing the conductor for the current at the bottom of the lamp’s own voltage range, protecting it with a fuse the conductor can carry, and switching the load with a relay rather than through the dashboard switch.

Put as one worked reference point: a 146 W bar rated 9-36 V draws 16.2 A if its driver holds full power at 9 V and 10.6 A at a 13.8 V running voltage, so the conductor, the fuse and the relay must all be chosen against roughly 16 A — the higher figure — even though the lamp will spend almost all of its life near the lower one.

That single sentence is the whole buying decision compressed. Everything below expands it: how to read the numbers on the lamp you already chose, how to size each part of the circuit against those numbers, and how to tell, before you pay, whether a specific led light bar wiring kit is a complete circuit or a length of wire with two crimped ends and an optimistic label.

The audience for this guide is a buyer who has already chosen a lamp — a 20 inch Jungle Series slim straight bar, a Pinnacle Series 20 inch curved spot bar or a Black Pearls 3×3 heavy-duty work light — and now has to decide what to connect it with. The lamp’s own page tells you the mounting positions worth considering and the size that fits the space; this article covers the part that comes after those decisions.

An unbranded off-road SUV with a grille-mounted auxiliary LED light bar, parked in a wooded area
The mounting position decides the length of the run, and the run decides the conductor size.

Quick answer

Buy the electrical parts as a matched set, in this order: lamp current first, then wire gauge, then fuse, then relay, then switch, then connectors and environmental protection. Each later choice is constrained by the earlier one, and a kit that lets you skip a step is a kit that will not fit your vehicle.

The working sequence for a typical 12 V auxiliary lamp:

  • Read the lamp’s published wattage, voltage range and, if the maker publishes it, current draw at 12 V and 24 V.
  • Compute the worst-case current at the bottom of the published voltage range, and the current at running voltage, because both matter.
  • Select the conductor gauge for that current over your actual one-way circuit length, using a documented ampacity or voltage-drop method rather than a rule of thumb.
  • Select a fuse at the next standard rating above the lamp’s continuous current, and confirm the conductor can carry that fuse’s rating.
  • Select a relay whose contact rating exceeds the continuous current with margin, and whose coil behaves correctly across the vehicle’s real operating voltage.
  • Select a switch rated for the circuit’s voltage and current, and for the environment it will live in.
  • Select connectors, terminals and sleeving rated for the circuit current and for the moisture and vibration the location will see.
  • Only then decide whether a pre-assembled kit or individual parts are the better buy.

The rest of this guide takes each step apart, gives the numbers, and shows where commercial kits commonly stop short.

What parts a complete auxiliary lamp circuit actually contains

A circuit that switches a high-current lamp from the dashboard has six functional blocks. Miss one and the circuit either does not work or works unsafely.

BlockJobTypical failure when it is under-specified
Conductor (positive and return)Carry the lamp current with acceptable voltage lossLamp dims, driver runs hot, insulation overheats
Overcurrent protectionOpen the circuit on a fault before the conductor is damagedWire becomes the fuse; sustained arcing or fire risk
Relay or contactorLet a low-current switch control a high-current loadSwitch contacts burn, melt or weld
Switch and its control wiringGive the driver control and a safe off stateContacts fail, water enters, unintended activation
Terminals and connectorsMake a low-resistance, vibration-resistant jointIntermittent circuit, heat at the joint, corrosion
Environmental protection (sleeving, grommets, fusing)Keep water, abrasion and heat away from the runChafed insulation, corrosion, short circuits

Two more items are optional but change the buying decision. A fused distribution block replaces several inline fuse holders and makes future additions simpler. A dedicated ground bus or a documented chassis ground point replaces a self-tapping screw into painted sheet metal.

A useful discipline is to write the six blocks as a bill of materials before shopping. If a product page cannot fill a row, the product is not the whole circuit — and a led light bar wiring kit that cannot fill the list is not the product it claims to be.

What is usually inside a “wiring kit” and what is usually missing

Pre-assembled auxiliary lamp harnesses vary enormously. The same phrase on two product pages can describe a complete, relay-driven circuit or a two-wire extension lead.

The reliably present items in a relay-style kit are a length of two-conductor sheathed cable, a moulded relay socket, a relay, an inline fuse holder, a switch, and a bag of crimp terminals. The items that are frequently absent, under-specified or unsuitable are:

  • The fuse. Many kits ship a fuse holder with no fuse, or with a fuse whose rating is chosen to protect the lamp rather than to protect the smallest conductor in the run.
  • The conductor gauge, stated. “Heavy duty wire” is not a specification. A kit that does not state AWG or mm² cannot be assessed.
  • The insulation temperature class. Insulation is what fails first when a conductor is overloaded or routed near exhaust or engine components.
  • A sealed switch. Many kits provide an open-body rocker or toggle switch with a decorative boot. If it will be mounted on a dashboard, in a pillar or on a console exposed to dust or spray, sealing matters.
  • A weatherproof fuse holder. An open blade-fuse holder in an engine bay is a corrosion site.
  • Wire length matched to the vehicle. A kit harness designed for a rear-mounted work light is frequently too short when the lamp goes on a roof rack and the switch goes into the cabin.
  • The return conductor. Some kits switch and fuse only the positive side and expect the chassis to serve as the return. That can work, but it must be a decision, not an omission.

The practical buying move is to compare the kit’s part list against the six blocks above and treat every gap as a separate purchase plus a separate labour step. A cheap kit that omits three parts is not cheap.

The gaps also compound. A kit without a stated conductor size cannot be checked against a fuse, because the fuse’s correct rating depends on the smallest conductor. A kit without a return conductor cannot be checked for total voltage drop, because half the circuit is unspecified. A kit with an unsealed switch forces a mounting decision — keep it inside the cabin, or accept a component that will corrode. Each gap narrows the installation rather than the product.

One more item deserves its own line: the relay’s pin configuration. A kit built around a non-standard relay gives the buyer a working circuit until the relay fails, at which point the replacement must come from the same supplier, in the same form factor, at whatever price that supplier sets. Standard pin layouts exist precisely so that a relay is a consumable, like a fuse. Verify the layout before buying, not after a failure.

A technician checks an auxiliary LED light-bar harness and battery connection with the vehicle hood open
Every gap in a kit becomes a separate purchase and a separate labour step.

Dimensions that decide whether a kit is suitable

Once a kit is described in numbers, it can be judged. The numbers that matter fall into six groups.

DimensionWhy it changes the buying decision
Conductor size in AWG or mm², and strand constructionSets ampacity, voltage drop and flexibility in a routing that must bend
Insulation material and temperature classDetermines whether the run survives engine-bay heat and abrasion
Insulation voltage ratingMust exceed the system’s transient and charging voltage with margin
Number of poles and conductorsA switched positive plus return is three conductors, not two
Fuse holder type and ratingBlade, glass, ANL, MIDI or breaker; each has its own rating and mounting need
Connector and terminal style, and sealingDetermines whether the joint survives vibration, washdown and winter salt

A concrete example of a documented conductor specification: a published SAE J1128 Type TXL automotive primary wire datasheet lists a temperature range of -40 °C to 125 °C, a 60 V rating, and for 16 AWG a nominal insulation thickness of 0.016 in (0.4 mm) and a nominal overall diameter of 0.089 in (2.3 mm); the same datasheet carries 12 AWG at 19 strands of 25 AWG, an insulation thickness of 0.018 in (0.5 mm) and an outer diameter of 0.127 in.

Two data points from that sheet are worth carrying into a purchase decision. The temperature class is 125 °C, which is why cross-linked insulation types are specified for engine compartments rather than general-purpose thermoplastic. The 60 V rating is roughly five times a 12 V system’s nominal voltage, which is the kind of margin to look for when a supplier does publish a voltage rating at all.

Why “includes wiring harness” is not a specification

A harness phrase tells you that something conductive is in the box. It does not tell you whether the circuit is safe, complete or long enough. Four questions separate a usable harness from a packaging claim.

First, what is the conductor size, in AWG or mm², for the main power pair? If the answer is not available, the harness cannot be evaluated against the lamp’s current.

Second, is the relay rating stated as a contact rating at a specific voltage and load type? Automotive relay datasheets published by manufacturers state a nominal switching capacity for a resistive load at a specific DC voltage, plus a maximum carrying current at a stated coil voltage and ambient temperature. A relay described only as “40 amp” without a voltage and a load condition is being described incompletely.

Third, what is the fuse rating, and what conductor does it protect? Overcurrent protection exists to protect the conductor. If the fuse is larger than the smallest conductor in the run can carry continuously, the protection is nominal.

Fourth, is the switch sealed, and to what standard? Sealing claims should name a test standard and an IP code, or they are marketing.

A harness that answers all four questions can be bought on its numbers. A harness that answers none of them should be treated as a length of wire and priced accordingly.

There is a further trap in the phrase itself. Two harnesses can both contain a relay and both work on the bench, while only one is suitable for a particular vehicle. A harness whose relay sits at the lamp end of the run keeps the high-current path short, which is good for voltage drop, but puts the relay in the weather. A harness whose relay sits at the switch end keeps the relay dry but runs the full lamp current through the cabin. Neither is universally right. The buyer’s job is to know which architecture the kit uses, because the answer changes both the voltage-drop arithmetic and the relay’s operating temperature.

Reading the lamp’s own specifications first

Every later decision depends on the lamp’s electrical data, and those data are often incomplete. The buying move is to identify what is published, what is missing, and what the missing figure could be.

A published example from this catalogue: the Jungle Series 20 inch slim straight LED light bar is listed as 146 W, with a 9-36 V range, 16,200 raw lumens, 342,530 cd peak intensity and a 585 m beam distance at 1 lux. The voltage range is the single most useful number on that list, because it tells you the lamp contains a regulated driver that will hold output across a wide input window rather than dimming in proportion to voltage.

From 146 W you can derive the current at any assumed voltage:

Assumed supply at the lampCurrent, W ÷ VWhat the figure represents
9 V (bottom of the published range)16.2 AWorst-case current if the driver holds full power at low input
12 V (nominal label)12.2 AThe figure most often quoted in casual comparisons
13.8 V (typical running voltage)10.6 AThe realistic current with the engine running
24 V (nominal 24 V system)6.1 AThe same fixture on a 24 V vehicle

The table contains the most common mistake in auxiliary lighting purchases. A buyer who divides wattage by 12 and sizes everything for 12.2 A can end up with a circuit that draws 16.2 A at the bottom of the lamp’s own published range. A buyer who divides by 13.8 and sizes everything for 10.6 A makes the opposite error.

Because the lamp is rated down to 9 V, the defensible approach is to size the conductor and the fuse for the current at the bottom of the published range, and to check that the running-voltage current is comfortably inside that envelope. For this lamp, that means designing for roughly 16 A, not 12 A.

If a lamp’s voltage range is not published, the specification is incomplete. That is a reason to ask the supplier, and a reason to be conservative with the sizing if the answer does not arrive.

The published ingress rating belongs in the same reading. A lamp documented to IP68 has been qualified for dust and water ingress under the conditions that rating describes, and the guide to what IP68 and IP69K actually test explains the difference between them. That rating covers the lamp. It does not cover the connector you crimp onto its lead, the fuse holder you mount beside it, or the switch on the dashboard. The circuit inherits nothing from the lamp’s rating, which is why the connector and sealing decisions below stand on their own.

Thermal behaviour is the third published dimension that feeds the electrical decision. A lamp that reduces output as it heats — covered in the guide to why thermal management changes sustained output — is not drawing less current at the moment it dims; a regulated driver typically maintains power while output falls. The conductor and fuse must therefore be sized for the current the circuit draws at its hottest and its coldest, not for the current it draws on the bench.

Wire gauge selection: the calculation a buyer should be able to do

Conductor selection has two independent constraints: the conductor must be able to carry the current without overheating, and it must deliver enough voltage to the lamp. Both must be satisfied, and the second usually dominates on long runs at 12 V.

The voltage-drop calculation for a two-conductor (positive and return) DC circuit is:

  • V(drop) = 2 × L × I × R per metre, where L is the one-way length of the run, I is the current, and R is the conductor resistance per metre.
  • Represent that drop as a percentage of system voltage, and compare it with the allowance you have chosen. A widely published design guideline for 12 V circuits is that conductors should not be sized with voltage drops exceeding 3%; at 12 V, 3% is 0.36 V.

Worked example, using the 146 W lamp at 13.8 V, a current of 10.6 A, a one-way run of 5 m, and 12 AWG copper with a conductor resistance of about 5.211 mΩ per metre:

  • V(drop) = 2 × 5 m × 10.6 A × 0.005211 Ω/m = 0.552 V.
  • As a percentage: 0.552 V ÷ 13.8 V = 4.0%, which exceeds the 3% allowance.

The same run in 10 AWG at 3.277 mΩ per metre gives 2 × 5 × 10.6 × 0.003277 = 0.347 V, or 2.5% of 13.8 V, which is inside the allowance. If the same lamp is instead carried on a 24 V system at 6.1 A over the same 5 m in 12 AWG, the drop is 2 × 5 × 6.1 × 0.005211 = 0.318 V, or 1.3% of 24 V — the same conductor is comfortable at the higher system voltage, which is the practical reason voltage selection changes harness selection.

Two buyers with the same lamp can therefore reach different conductor sizes without either being wrong, because their runs differ. That is why a harness sold as suitable for “a light bar” is a category, not a specification.

Two caveats belong with those numbers, because they are the kind of arithmetic that misleads if presented alone.

First, the resistance figures above are for copper at 20 °C. Conductor resistance rises with temperature. Published design tables often assume a higher conductor temperature and a correspondingly higher resistance, which is one reason hand calculations and published ampacity tables do not always agree.

Second, published reference tables are not all built on the same criterion. A widely used 12 V table gives 16 AWG for 15 A over a 5 ft run, and 12 AWG for 15 A over a 30 ft run. Applying the 3% voltage-drop calculation above to a 5 ft (1.52 m) run in 16 AWG at 15 A gives 2 × 1.52 × 15 × 0.01317 = 0.60 V, which is well above 0.36 V. The table and the calculation disagree because they are answering related but different questions. The buying consequence is simple: use one method consistently, state its assumptions, and if a supplier publishes a table, check which criterion it uses before relying on it.

The self-reinforcing nature of the problem is worth understanding, because it explains why an undersized run fails gradually rather than all at once. On a regulated driver, a lower voltage at the lamp input means the driver draws more current to hold its output power. More current produces more voltage drop over the same conductor. The two effects push in the same direction: the lamp gets less voltage, the circuit carries more current, and the conductor runs hotter, which raises its resistance again. The circuit does not stop working; it drifts into a state where the lamp is dimmer than specified, the connectors are warmer than intended, and the fuse sits closer to its rating than the buyer planned.

If the conductor is also marginal on ampacity, the failure mode changes from performance to safety: insulation damage at the hottest point, usually under a loom or against a panel where there is no airflow.

Reference pointPublished valueHow to use it
SAE J1128Low tension primary cable for use at 50 V or less in surface vehicle wiring; cable sizes 20 through 4, with 6 through 4/0 moved to SAE J1127Confirms what an automotive primary wire standard covers, and that size classes are standardised
Type TXL primary wire datasheet-40 °C to 125 °C, 60 V, J1128A published example of a conductor’s temperature and voltage ratings
12 V design guidelineVoltage drop should not exceed 3%; 0.36 V at 12 VA criterion to compute against, not a guarantee any given table uses it
12 V amps and wire gauge table15 A at 5 ft: 16 AWG; 15 A at 30 ft: 12 AWGA published lookup reference; verify its criterion before relying on it

For a buyer, the practical output is a conductor size and a maximum run length. Write both on the order.

From watts to amps: worked numbers for real auxiliary lamps

The arithmetic in the previous section only becomes useful when it is applied to real fixtures. The table below uses published or derived currents for lamp classes this catalogue sells. Where a figure is derived from a published wattage at a stated voltage, the derivation is shown.

Lamp classPublished powerCurrent at 12 VCurrent at 13.8 VFuseRelayMinimum conductor for a run up to about 5 m
Small work light, 18 W18 W1.5 A1.3 A5 ANot required; switch can carry it18 AWG
Cube work light, 40 W40 W3.3 A2.9 A7.5 AOptional16 AWG
Single-row bar, 72 W72 W6.0 A5.2 A10 ARecommended14 AWG
20 inch combo bar, 146 W146 W12.2 A10.6 A20 ARequired12 AWG
30 inch bar, 180 W180 W15.0 A13.0 A25 ARequired10 AWG
40 inch bar, 240 W240 W20.0 A17.4 A30 ARequired8 AWG
40 inch bar, 400 W400 W33.3 A29.0 A50 ARequired6 AWG

Four notes on that table, because it is the kind of table that gets over-trusted.

The currents assume the lamp behaves as a constant-power load, which is what a regulated driver does. A lamp with a resistive or unregulated load behaves differently and its current falls as voltage falls. The distinction matters: a regulated 146 W lamp draws less current at 13.8 V than at 9 V, whereas an unregulated lamp draws less at every lower voltage.

The fuse column is a starting recommendation at the next standard rating above continuous current, not a rule from a standard. Overcurrent protection must also protect the smallest conductor in the circuit, and if a kit harness uses a smaller conductor than the table’s minimum for its own length, the fuse must be reduced accordingly or the conductor replaced.

The conductor column is for a run of about 5 m at the currents shown and may be insufficient for longer runs. Compute, do not assume.

The relay column reflects control-side need, not just current. On a 3 A work light, a 15 A switch can carry the load directly and a relay adds a component that can fail. On a 12 A lamp, a direct-switched circuit would demand a switch rated well above the load and a much heavier control run into the cabin.

Fuse selection: protecting the conductor, not the lamp

A fuse’s job is to open the circuit before the conductor is damaged, and to do so without opening during normal operation. That gives two boundaries, and the correct rating sits between them.

The lower boundary is the circuit’s continuous current plus margin for inrush and for tolerance. LED drivers commonly draw a brief higher current at switch-on while input capacitors charge, so a fuse sitting exactly at the running current will nuisance-blow. The upper boundary is the current the smallest conductor in the circuit can carry continuously without insulation damage, after derating for the ambient temperature where the conductor actually runs.

A published example of the fuse family itself: the Eaton Bussmann ATC blade fuse range is rated 32 Vdc with a 1 kAIC interrupt rating, and the ATC-25 part carries a 25 A amperage rating, is UL Listed and non-indicating. The 32 Vdc rating matters on a 24 V system and on a 12 V system where charging voltage and transients sit well above nominal. The 1 kAIC interrupt rating is the fault current the fuse can safely interrupt; a fuse with no stated interrupt rating cannot be evaluated for fault behaviour.

Practical fuse selection rules that follow from the ratings:

  • Choose a fuse whose DC voltage rating exceeds the highest steady system voltage, not just the nominal label. On a 24 V vehicle, a 32 Vdc-rated fuse has less margin than it appears to.
  • Choose the next standard rating above continuous current: for the 146 W lamp at 13.8 V (10.6 A), a 15 A fuse is marginal and a 20 A fuse is the practical choice, provided the conductor carries 20 A.
  • Use the same fuse rating philosophy on the return side if the circuit is separately protected there.
  • Do not accept a kit whose fuse holder is unrated. An unrated holder at a 20 A continuous load is a heat source.

A correctly specified fuse and conductor pair does not guarantee the finished circuit behaves. A lamp that dims when the alternator is at idle is usually described as a charging or wiring complaint, and the diagnostic sequence for a light bar that dims at idle is a useful reminder that the same symptom can come from the supply, the conductor or the return path. Buying the right parts narrows which of those it can be.

A blade fuse, an inline fuse holder with a moulded body, and a fused distribution block with six circuits, arranged to show the three overcurrent protection choices a buyer can make
Fuse rating, fuse holder rating and mounting method are three separate decisions.

Why a 40 A relay is not a 40 A circuit

Automotive relay specifications are frequently read as a single number, and the number is almost always the most flattering one. A manufacturer datasheet states several ratings, and they are not interchangeable.

A published example: the Panasonic CB1-12V automotive relay is a 1 Form C (single-pole double-throw) relay with a 12 V DC rated coil, a usable coil voltage range of 10 to 16 V DC, a rated operating current of 117 mA, a coil resistance of 103 Ω, and a rated operating power of 1.4 W at 20 °C. Its contact data are more granular than a headline figure:

  • Nominal switching capacity for a resistive load: 40 A at 14 V DC on the normally open side, and 30 A at 14 V DC on the normally closed side.
  • Maximum carrying current: 40 A on the normally open side and 30 A on the normally closed side, with the coil applied at 14 V DC and at 85 °C, continuous.
  • Minimum switching load: 1 A at 14 V DC, which matters if you intend to switch a very small load through the same relay type.
  • Contact resistance, initial: maximum 15 mΩ, typically 2 mΩ, measured by voltage drop at 1 A and 6 V DC.
  • Operate and release times: maximum 15 ms each at the rated coil voltage and 20 °C.
  • Expected life: minimum 10⁶ mechanical operations at 120 cycles per minute, and minimum 5 × 10⁴ electrical operations at a 2 s on, 2 s off duty cycle.
  • Ambient temperature: -40 °C to +85 °C.

Five buying consequences follow from that one datasheet.

First, the headline current belongs to the normally open contact. If a kit wires the lamp through the normally closed contact — which happens with some switch-and-relay combinations — the usable continuous rating drops to 30 A at the stated conditions.

Second, the rating is stated at 14 V DC, not at 12 V, and for a resistive load. An inductive or capacitive load changes contact life. LED drivers are not purely resistive.

Third, the carrying current is specified at 85 °C ambient. In a hotter location — an engine bay in summer, or a relay tucked against a radiator shroud — the same relay has less margin.

Fourth, the coil is not free. A 1.4 W coil at 117 mA is an extra load on the control circuit, and it is why relay coils are usually switched from a low-current source rather than from a lamp circuit.

Fifth, the usable coil voltage range of 10 to 16 V DC is the number that decides whether a relay coil driven from a modern vehicle’s control module behaves predictably. A coil supply below 10 V may not pull in reliably; one above 16 V is outside the published range.

For the buying decision: match the relay’s stated continuous current on the contact you will actually use, at a stated voltage and temperature, to the lamp’s worst-case current with margin. A “40 A relay” carrying 16 A is comfortable. A “40 A relay” carrying 33 A at 85 °C on its normally closed contact is not.

The electrical margins a relay provides do not extend to control signals. A relay coil driven from a factory circuit that is pulse-width modulated rather than switched cleanly may chatter or behave intermittently, which is the territory covered by the guide to why LED lamps flicker and what the safe checks are. If the vehicle’s control signal is anything other than a clean make-or-break 12 V output, specify the interface deliberately instead of wiring a coil to it.

Switch selection: current, sealing and how it fails

A switch in an auxiliary lamp circuit does two jobs: it signals intent, and it survives. Which is harder depends on whether the switch carries the lamp current directly or drives a relay coil.

A published switch example sets a useful benchmark. The Carling Technologies V-Series Contura II and III sealed rocker switches are documented as rated 15 A at 24 V, certified to IP66/IP68 for above-panel protection, recognised to UL 1500 ignition protection for marine products, resistant to vibration, shock, thermoshock, moisture and salt spray, with an operating temperature range of -40 °C to +85 °C, a minimum insulation resistance of 50 MΩ, polycarbonate actuator components, .250 in quick-connect terminals, and a snap-in mounting hole of 0.83 in × 1.45 in (21.08 mm × 36.83 mm).

Read those numbers as a checklist rather than a product recommendation:

  • Current and voltage: 15 A at 24 V is roughly equivalent to 15 A at 12 V in thermal terms, but the rating is only valid at the stated voltage. A switch rated 15 A at 12 V should not be assumed to carry 15 A at 24 V.
  • Sealing: IP66/IP68 describes above-panel protection from dust, prolonged spray and submersion. That is the claim to look for when the switch sits on a dashboard or console.
  • Temperature: -40 °C to +85 °C covers most vehicle interiors and many exterior mounts.
  • Insulation resistance: a published minimum of 50 MΩ is a specification a buyer can cite; “high-quality insulation” is not.
  • Termination: .250 in quick-connect tabs are common, cheap and serviceable, but an unsealed tab is a corrosion site unless it is protected.
  • Mounting: the panel cut-out is a fixed dimension. Buying a switch before checking the hole is how buyers end up drilling a dashboard twice.

The design decision that often matters more than the switch’s rating is whether the switch carries the load. A switch that carries 16 A directly needs contacts rated well above 16 A, heavy control wiring into the cabin, and a safe failure mode. A switch that drives a relay coil carries around 120 mA at 12 V for the relay example above, which means a much smaller switch, much smaller control wiring, and a failure mode that leaves the high-current path out of the cabin entirely. That is why nearly every commercial auxiliary harness routes the lamp current through a relay and reserves the switch for the coil circuit.

Two switch features are worth paying for. An indicator that shows the circuit is live prevents a driver from leaving a high-current auxiliary lamp on and flattening the battery. A guarded or recessed actuator reduces the chance of accidental activation, which matters for a lamp that must not be used on a public road. The switch is also the last control the driver has over the light, which is why the guide to aiming auxiliary lights and managing glare treats the switch as a safety component rather than a convenience.

Connector and terminal selection

Terminals and connectors are where most intermittent auxiliary light faults begin, and they are usually the least-specified part of a kit. Five criteria decide whether a joint is suitable.

Current rating. A terminal’s current rating applies to the terminal, the conductor size it accepts and the temperature at which the rating is stated. A ring terminal catalogued for 12-10 AWG on a #10 stud with a closed barrel and tin plating, such as the TE Connectivity PIDG closed ring tongue terminal, is a documented part: the wire size range and stud size are published, and the barrel style and plating are stated. The buying question is not whether tin plating is better than something else, but whether the supplier publishes the wire range and stud size at all.

Vibration resistance. A crimped joint resists vibration better than a screw-terminal joint of the same size, because a screw can back out. If a connection must be repeatedly serviceable, use a sealed plug-and-socket rather than a loose blade terminal.

Sealing. Sealed connector systems exist precisely for engine bays, chassis and exterior locations. If the supplier claims sealing, the claim should name a standard or an IP code.

Wire range. A terminal that accepts 22-16 AWG cannot properly crimp 12 AWG. The conductor must fill the barrel. A joint where the conductor is loose in the barrel may measure fine when new and fail within a season.

Tooling. A crimp is only as good as the tool. Ratcheting crimpers with dies matched to the terminal type produce repeatable joints; plier-style crimps do not, and solder on a vibrating vehicle is a brittle joint, not a better one.

Connection typeStrengthsWhere it is the wrong choice
Crimped ring terminal under a studHigh current capability, serviceable, inspectableWhere the stud is inaccessible or the surface is not a reliable ground
Crimped butt splice with adhesive-lined sleevingCompact, sealed, permanentWhere the circuit must be disconnected for service
Sealed plug-and-socket connectorRepeatedly serviceable, sealed, keyedWhere the current rating is below the circuit current
Loose blade terminalCheap, fast, replaceableExposed, vibration-prone locations
Soldered jointLow resistance when made wellAnywhere vibration will work-harden the joint

Environmental protection and mechanical protection

The conductor is only half the protected item. The other half is the joint, and the third is the routing.

Heat-shrink sleeving with an adhesive lining seals a crimped joint against moisture ingress. For exterior and engine-bay work, choose sleeving whose published shrink ratio and temperature rating suit the location; a 3:1 adhesive-lined polyolefin tubing is a common choice for covering a splice in a wet area.

Convoluted conduit or braided sleeving protects a long run against abrasion. Where a run passes through sheet metal, a grommet is not optional: an unprotected hole will cut through insulation within a season of vibration, and the resulting fault will be on the unfused side of the circuit if the protection is mounted at the far end.

Two layout rules belong in the buying plan. First, put the fuse as close as practical to the power source, so that the unprotected length of conductor is as short as possible. Second, leave a service loop and a labelled break at each end so that a future lamp replacement does not require cutting the harness. A connector that costs a few dollars makes the difference between a ten-minute lamp change and a two-hour harness rebuild.

Relay placement, sockets and serviceability

Relays fail, and when they do, the buyer benefits from having bought a serviceable circuit rather than a soldered one.

A moulded relay socket with pre-crimped pigtails allows the relay to be replaced without cutting anything. A relay soldered directly into a harness does not. Where a relay lives also decides how hot it runs and how easy it is to reach.

Three placement questions belong in the purchase decision:

  • Is the socket a standard pin configuration that a replacement relay from any supplier will fit? A relay with a proprietary footprint locks the buyer into one supplier.
  • Is the mounting method vibration-tolerant? A relay hanging on its own harness will fatigue its own conductors.
  • Is the relay in a location where you can reach it with the vehicle loaded and the engine bay hot? A relay buried behind a grille that must be removed for access will not be diagnosed on a roadside.

Diode-suppressed relay coils are sometimes offered as an option. A suppression diode protects whatever drives the coil from the inductive kick when the coil de-energises. Whether it is needed depends on the driver circuit; a relay socket with an integrated diode should be selected deliberately, not by accident, and the polarity of the coil circuit must match the diode’s orientation.

Distribution blocks versus inline fuse holders

Once a vehicle has more than one auxiliary lamp, the overcurrent protection decision changes. Two inline fuse holders mean two places to check, two sets of connectors, and two unlabelled circuits. A fused distribution block consolidates that.

The criteria for choosing one: the maximum current per circuit, the maximum total current, the fuse type it accepts, whether it has an integrated negative bus, and whether the cover is serviceable without tools. A block that accepts only 15 A fuses per circuit is not suitable for a 25 A circuit, no matter how many positions it has.

Inline holders remain the right answer for a single lamp, for a location far from the distribution point, or where the fuse must sit as close to the source as possible. A weatherproof inline holder with a sealed body is the minimum acceptable version for an engine bay; an open holder with exposed spring contacts is not.

The architecture question matters most on a vehicle that will carry a mix of loads. The same vehicle may have a pair of driving lamps on the bumper, a work light at the rear, and a warning beacon on the roof, and those three loads have different duty cycles, different currents and different legal constraints. A single fused feed shared between all three is one fault away from taking all three out. One fuse per circuit, one relay per circuit, and a block rated for the sum is what makes the installation diagnosable later. The work light range and the light bar range illustrate how different those loads are: a compact work light and a long bar have current draws that differ by an order of magnitude, and a block that suits one will not suit the other without checking its per-circuit and total ratings.

The practical instruction is to decide the distribution architecture before buying lamps, because the architecture sets how many circuits the block needs and how much current it must carry in total. Adding a fourth lamp to a block designed for three is how buyers end up replacing the block.

Grounding and the return path

The return conductor is a functional part of the circuit, and its resistance adds to the voltage drop exactly like the positive conductor’s.

Three approaches exist, and they are not equally good in every situation:

  • Chassis return. The lamp’s negative terminal connects to a documented chassis ground point, and the current returns through the body structure. This is how most vehicles are built, and it works when the ground point is clean, tight and unpainted.
  • Dedicated return conductor to the battery negative or to a common ground bus. This gives a known resistance, is easy to inspect, and removes the risk of a corroded body joint. It costs an extra conductor in the run.
  • Mixed. Some loads return through the chassis and some through a dedicated conductor. This is common in practice and requires discipline: the return for a high-current lamp should not share a small-gauge chassis point with a sensor.

For the buying decision, the question to ask is what the kit provides for the return. A kit that includes a positive conductor, a fuse and a relay but nothing for the return has not finished the circuit. A kit that specifies an eyelet and a documented stud location has.

A corroded ground produces the same electrical signature as a long undersized positive run: a lower voltage at the lamp, higher current for the same output on a regulated driver, and heat at the joint. Because the symptom is identical, the return path deserves the same specification attention as the positive side. A lamp that stops working entirely is a different problem with a different sequence of checks, described in the guide to safe diagnosis when a light bar does not work — but a circuit specified properly at purchase rarely reaches that point for a fitting reason.

Routing, abrasion and service access

Routing decisions are made at purchase time because they determine how much conductor, how much sleeving and how many connectors the job needs.

Plan the run before ordering. A roof-mounted lamp reaches the cabin through a different, usually longer path than a bumper-mounted lamp, and the length difference is often several metres. Measure the route, add a service loop at each end, and order to that figure rather than to a generic harness length.

Three protection items are worth buying in quantity: grommets for every panel penetration, sleeving for every section that could contact metal, and sealed connectors at every point where the circuit will be separated for service.

Label both ends of every conductor before installation. A circuit that will be diagnosed in three years by someone who did not install it — possibly you — should carry its function and its fuse rating on a tag.

The selection order that prevents rework

The sequence below produces a purchase specification that can be quoted to a supplier and checked on delivery. It is written as an order of operations because each step constrains the next.

  • State the lamp’s published power, voltage range, and current at the bottom of that range.
  • State the one-way circuit length for the intended mounting position, measured on the vehicle.
  • Choose the conductor gauge so that the calculated voltage drop is inside your chosen allowance at the worst-case current.
  • Choose the fuse at the next standard rating above continuous current, and confirm the chosen conductor carries that rating continuously in its actual ambient.
  • Choose the relay by its stated continuous current on the contact you will use, at a stated voltage and temperature.
  • Choose the switch by the current it will actually carry and the environment it will live in; if it drives a relay coil, rate it for the coil current, not the lamp current.
  • Choose connectors and terminals by wire range, current rating, sealing and crimp tooling.
  • Choose the mechanical protection: sleeving, grommets, mounting hardware, service loops.
  • Write the whole thing as a bill of materials with part numbers and ratings, and keep it with the vehicle.

A buyer who can produce that list has already solved the problem the product page was hiding.

Two related decisions are worth taking at the same time, because they change the parts list by one or two items. The first is whether the lamp’s beam pattern requires a specific mounting position that lengthens the run; the guide to choosing between spot and flood work lights covers that choice, and every position change should be followed by re-measuring the run. The second is whether the vehicle will ever carry more than one auxiliary circuit. If it will, buy the distribution block now and provision one relay position per lamp, because retrofitting a block into a finished harness costs more than specifying one from the start.

A led light bar wiring kit bought against that list is a component with ratings, not a hopeful bundle. A led light bar wiring kit bought without it is a starting point for a second purchase.

A written auxiliary lighting circuit selection sheet with columns for lamp, voltage, current, fuse, relay, switch, conductor gauge, connector and notes, filled in for one installation
A one-page selection sheet turns a product page into a verifiable specification.

What to put in a purchase specification

A purchase specification is not a wish list. It is a set of requirements with numbers, each of which can be confirmed against a delivered product.

RequirementValue to stateHow to verify on delivery
Conductor size and typeAWG or mm², insulation type and temperature classPrinted on the conductor jacket
Conductor voltage ratingMust exceed the highest steady system voltagePrinted on the jacket or in the datasheet
Fuse rating and typeAmperage and DC voltage rating, fuse familyMarked on the fuse body
Fuse holder ratingContinuous current and voltage, sealingStated on the holder or its datasheet
Relay contact ratingContinuous current, voltage, contact used, temperatureRelay datasheet or body marking
Relay coil dataRated coil voltage, current, usable rangeRelay datasheet or body marking
Switch ratingVoltage, current, IP code, temperature rangeSwitch body or datasheet
ConnectorWire range, current rating, sealingSupplier datasheet
TerminalsWire range, stud size, barrel type, platingSupplier datasheet
ProtectionSleeving type and temperature rating, grommets, hardwareProduct labelling

If a supplier cannot answer a row, that is information about the supplier. If a supplier answers a row with a range rather than a figure — “up to 40 A depending on conditions” — ask for the conditions, because they are the part that decides whether the part suits your circuit.

When a universal kit is the wrong answer

A universal kit is the right answer for a single low-current lamp on a vehicle with no factory auxiliary wiring. It becomes the wrong answer in five situations, each of which changes what should be bought.

When the current exceeds about 30 A continuous. At that point the conductor sizes, terminal sizes and fuse types belong in a distribution-block architecture with correctly sized cable, not in a blade-fuse harness.

When the vehicle already has factory auxiliary switches or a factory upfitter circuit. Adding a second, parallel switch-and-relay circuit duplicates a function the vehicle already provides. The relevant documentation is the manufacturer’s own body-builder or upfitter guidance, which describes the factory circuit’s limits.

When the lamp will be controlled by a vehicle module rather than a physical switch. A control signal from a module is not the same as a 12 V switch output, and a relay coil driven from the wrong signal behaves unpredictably.

When the vehicle’s electrical architecture is unusual. Some modern vehicles, including battery-electric models, place specific requirements on added low-voltage loads, and the manufacturer’s own modifier or upfitter documentation is the only authority on what the vehicle’s low-voltage system will accept. The federal equipment standard for lighting, 49 CFR 571.108, governs the lamps the vehicle is certified with; it does not certify an added auxiliary circuit, and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s regulations index is the entry point for checking what does apply.

When the circuit must be legal on a public road in a way that depends on switching behaviour. A lamp that must not be usable on the road needs a control arrangement that makes that reliable, which is a design question rather than a parts question.

SituationUniversal kit appropriateWhat to buy instead
One 18-72 W lamp, no factory auxiliary wiringYesA relay-style kit with a stated conductor size
One 146-240 W lampOnly with a kit that states conductor, fuse and relay ratingsIndividual parts plus a fused distribution point
Multiple lamps on one vehicleNoFused distribution block, one fuse per lamp, one relay per lamp
Vehicle with factory upfitter switchesNoNothing, until the factory circuit’s limits are known
Load over about 30 A continuousNoProperly sized cable, high-current fuse type, contactor
Control from a vehicle moduleNoA module-compatible interface, specified by the vehicle maker

A 60-minute verification routine for a kit you already own

Buyers often discover a kit’s gaps during installation. The checks below take about an hour on a bench and prevent most of them.

  • Identify every conductor’s size, either from the jacket print or by measuring the strand count and diameter, and compare it with the size you specified.
  • Confirm the fuse rating against the smallest conductor in the kit and against your lamp’s worst-case current.
  • Read the ratings printed on the relay and compare them with the datasheet for the contact you will use.
  • Check the relay socket pin layout against a standard replacement relay.
  • Open the switch, if it can be opened, and look for a sealing gasket. If the switch has no seal and will be mounted outside the cabin, replace it.
  • Measure the harness length against your planned route, including service loops.
  • Check that the kit includes a return conductor or a documented grounding method.
  • Inspect every crimped terminal for conductor fill and for any strand damage at the crimp.
  • Confirm that every terminal’s wire range matches the conductor it will receive.
  • Confirm that the fuse holder is rated for the fuse you intend to fit.

A kit that passes all ten checks can be installed as delivered. A kit that fails three is a parts donor, not a harness, and the buyer would have been better served by specifying a led light bar wiring kit against the ratings list in the previous section.

What questions to ask a supplier, and what the answers mean

The answers tell you whether you are buying a specified product or a photograph.

QuestionA sufficient answerA warning answer
What is the conductor size and insulation type?A stated AWG or mm² plus an insulation type and temperature class“Heavy duty” or “high quality copper”
What is the fuse rating, and what conductor does it protect?A stated fuse rating plus the conductor it is matched to“Includes fuse” with no rating
What are the relay’s contact ratings?Continuous current, voltage, load type and temperature“40 A relay” alone
What is the switch rated for, and is it sealed?Voltage, current and an IP code, or a named test standard“Waterproof switch” with no code
What length is the harness, and is there a longer version?A stated length in metres or feet, with optionsNo length stated
Does the kit include a return conductor?A clear yes, with the grounding methodNo answer, or “grounds to the chassis” without detail
What is the warranty and what does it cover?A stated term and what is excludedNo published terms

A supplier who answers four of those seven with figures is selling a specified product. One who answers none is selling packaging.

Two of those questions deserve a follow-up because the first answer is often incomplete. On the fuse question, ask separately for the fuse rating and for the conductor it is matched to; a supplier who can only answer the first has not thought about protection. On the relay question, ask which contact the lamp is wired through. A relay with a 40 A normally open contact and a 30 A normally closed contact is a different component depending on the answer, and a supplier who does not know which one the harness uses has not specified the circuit.

It is also worth asking how the kit is expected to be terminated. A kit supplied with bare wire ends assumes the buyer has crimp tooling and terminals of the right wire range; a kit supplied with pre-crimped ring terminals assumes the buyer knows the stud size at both ends. Neither assumption is unreasonable, but the buyer should know which one the product makes before it arrives.

Cost and value: what you are actually paying for

Prices for auxiliary lamp harnesses vary widely for products that look similar in a photograph, and the difference is almost entirely in the parts that do not show.

Copper is the largest single cost in a harness, and conductor size is the largest single variable in copper content. A harness with 12 AWG conductors contains roughly two and a half times the copper per metre of one with 16 AWG conductors, and the price difference usually reflects that. Buying a thin harness and disappointing light output is not a saving.

The second cost driver is the environmental protection: sealed connectors, adhesive-lined sleeving, sealed switch, sealed fuse holder. These are also the parts that decide whether the circuit still works in the third winter.

The third is the relay and its socket. A relay with a published datasheet, a standard pin layout and a moulded socket costs more than a relay soldered into a harness, and it is replaceable.

The fourth is documentation: harness length options, published ratings, and a bill of materials that matches what is in the box. Documentation costs a supplier money, and it is the cheapest thing a buyer can insist on.

The value question is therefore not “how much is the harness” but “which of the six functional blocks does this price cover, and are their ratings published.” A $20 harness that omits the fuse rating, the conductor size and the return path is not $20; it is $20 plus the parts and labour to finish the circuit.

Frequently asked questions

What size wire do I need for an LED light bar?

Size the conductor so that the calculated voltage drop over your actual one-way run stays inside your chosen allowance at the circuit’s worst-case current. For a 146 W lamp at 13.8 V drawing 10.6 A over a 5 m run, 12 AWG gives about 0.55 V of drop, or 4.0% of 13.8 V, which exceeds a 3% allowance; 10 AWG gives about 0.35 V, or 2.5%, which is inside it. Compute for your own length and current rather than copying a table.

Do I need a relay for a light bar?

A relay is needed when the lamp current exceeds what the switch is rated to carry, or when running a heavy conductor into the cabin is undesirable. For a 12 A to 16 A lamp, a direct-switched circuit would need a switch rated well above the load plus heavy control wiring; a relay lets a small switch control the load and keeps the high-current path out of the cabin. For a small work light drawing 1.5 A, a suitably rated switch can carry the load directly.

What size fuse should I use for a light bar?

Choose the next standard fuse rating above the circuit’s continuous current, then confirm the smallest conductor in the circuit can carry that rating continuously in its actual ambient. For a 146 W lamp at 13.8 V drawing 10.6 A, a 20 A fuse is practical and a 15 A fuse is marginal. The fuse protects the conductor, not the lamp, and both of its ratings — amperage and DC voltage — must exceed what the circuit will see.

Can I wire a light bar directly to the battery?

Yes, provided the circuit is fused as close to the battery as practical and is switched so that the lamp cannot be left on unintentionally. The important details are fuse placement, conductor size and a proper return path. A circuit tapped at the battery with a long unfused run to a distant fuse holder has an unprotected length of conductor that can fault against the body.

Should the switch carry the lamp current or a relay coil?

A relay coil, in almost every case where the lamp draws more than a few amps. A published automotive relay example draws 117 mA at 12 V for a 1.4 W coil, which a small switch can switch comfortably, whereas carrying 16 A through a dashboard switch requires contacts rated well above that and heavy control wiring. Switches are also easier to seal and mount when they do not have to handle high current.

Does a 24 V system need a different harness?

It needs a harness rated for 24 V, which most automotive blade fuses and relays already are, but the current is roughly half for the same lamp power and the voltage drop is a smaller fraction of system voltage. A 146 W lamp draws about 6.1 A at 24 V instead of 10.6 A at 13.8 V, and the same 12 AWG conductor that gave 4.0% drop at 13.8 V gives about 1.3% at 24 V. Verify that every component’s DC voltage rating exceeds the 24 V system’s charging voltage.

Is a pre-assembled wiring kit worse than buying parts separately?

Not inherently. A led light bar wiring kit is better value when it states conductor size, fuse rating, relay ratings, switch rating, harness length, and whether a return conductor is included. It is worse value when those figures are absent, because the buyer then pays twice: once for the kit and once for the parts needed to finish the circuit.

How do I know if a wiring kit is weatherproof?

Look for a named standard or an IP code on the switch, connectors and fuse holder, not for the word waterproof. A sealed rocker switch documented to IP66/IP68 is a specific claim about dust, spray and submersion; an unsealed switch described as waterproof is a description, not a rating.

Can I use one relay for two light bars?

Only if the total continuous current of both lamps stays inside the relay’s stated continuous rating on the contact you use, at a stated voltage and temperature. Two 146 W lamps at 13.8 V draw about 21 A together, which a relay rated 40 A at 14 V on its normally open contact can carry, but each lamp should still have its own fuse so that a fault in one does not take out both.

What should I check when a wiring kit arrives?

Check conductor size against the specification, fuse rating against the smallest conductor, relay ratings on the contact you will use, switch sealing and rating, harness length against your measured route, whether a return conductor is included, crimp quality and terminal wire ranges. A kit that passes those checks can be installed as delivered; one that fails several is a source of parts.

Editorial note

This guide was written by the SAEC Lighting Engineering Team, Foshan, for buyers who need to specify an auxiliary lighting circuit from published ratings rather than from product photography. Every specification quoted here comes from a manufacturer datasheet, a published standard catalogue entry, or a primary circuit measured on the site’s own product pages; the sources are listed below.

Where a number is derived rather than published — the current columns in the worked tables, and the voltage-drop arithmetic — the derivation and its assumptions are stated in the text. Where a widely published reference disagrees with a direct calculation, both are shown, because the disagreement is itself useful information for a buyer choosing a method.

What this guide does not do is certify any particular installation. Vehicle wiring practice, legal requirements for lamp use and inspection rules vary by market and by vehicle, and a circuit that is electrically sound can still be illegal to use on a public road.

Last updated: 2026-10-15

Sources